Update on Progress (Such As It Is)

It’s been a slow start, getting back into the swing of things at school.  I have yet to meet with my designers, and sometimes I wish my project wasn’t so dependent on others – not because I don’t enjoy working with other people, but because I am obviously far more invested in this one project while they have many goals to accomplish.  I don’t want to become like an employer I had in the past, who expected everyone to be just as enthusiastic about her project as she was, and therefore just as committed.

My plan for Jan-term is to meet and work with my designers (hopefully starting this week).  When I’m not doing that, I’ll probably work on the design for flyers/programs/mailbox stuffers, etc.  I’ve taken the design work into my own hands because it’s remarkably difficult to find a designer with time.  I have a new found respect for graphic designers, though, let me tell you.  I’m doing the work by hand, myself, and it’s so time-consuming…and the possibilities are endless!  There are so many places on a page where I could put letters!  And art!

I’ve been struggling to come up with an artistic representation of my show.  I’ve been thinking about the themes and the characters and coming up blank.  I want there to be some sort of art on the promotional material.  I’m hoping that it’ll come to me in time.

Aside from design work, I also have some grant stuff I want to work on.  I’m definitely going to need a bit of funding, so that’s another project I’ve got to get done.

And that’s really all that’s new in Div III land right now.  That, and a little bit of stress because I feel like I should be doing a lot more.  But now that I have a (sort-of) game plan, I should be a little less stressed and a little more productive.  Here’s hoping!

About lapiccolacoccinella

I consistently have trouble with self-definition, but I'll give it my best shot here.... I am a twentysomething Italian-American woman from New England who loves clowning and cats and goth subculture and animanga and art and writing and books. I am an aspiring author and artist who currently blogs for Amazing Stories Magazine. I love getting feedback and advice from readers in order to allow my work to grow. View all posts by lapiccolacoccinella

Leave a Reply

