Div III Time is Upon Us.

The last week/week and a half has been jam-packed with preparations for the show.  We rehearsed 5 days a week for the last two weeks.  I’ve been running around with errands and last minute arty stuff and reserving things and whatnot.

Right now?  Right now I’m in the Red Barn, taking a brief break after hauling the speakers up here and then going back to Duplications to get the programs.  In about an hour/hour and a half I will have a second pair of hands here helping me begin set-up.  In three hours, it’s full dress rehearsal.

This is it.  Show goes up tomorrow.  Show ends Wednesday.

I had a little freak-out on Friday – I felt stressed, unprepared, uncertain.  Saturday, I was really pumped and excited and ready to go (we had a really awesome run-through of the show).  Today?  Today I feel…prepared?  More like, everything’s more or less set up, and all I need to worry about is having things run smoothly.  I’m a little bit on auto-pilot.  I’m also kind of tired.  It’s been a long couple weeks.  I’m looking forward to the weekend ahead, where not a single aspect of it will be governed by my show (though I’ll probably work on my retrospective).

I think I’m ready for this.  I’ve been preparing for nine months, basically.  Things have gone pretty well – the beginning was a little bit of a bumpy ride, but it smoothed out as I figured out how to go about being a director and a designer and a performer and a friend all at the same time.  I’m not actually sure I have entirely “figure it out,” but I’ve been able to get by, and I think that I’m going to have a product that I can be proud of.

I can’t believe how far away this day seemed, and how fast it came to be.

Here goes nothing.

In boca al lupo.

Crepi.

About lapiccolacoccinella

I consistently have trouble with self-definition, but I'll give it my best shot here.... I am a twentysomething Italian-American woman from New England who loves clowning and cats and goth subculture and animanga and art and writing and books. I am an aspiring author and artist who currently blogs for Amazing Stories Magazine. I love getting feedback and advice from readers in order to allow my work to grow. View all posts by lapiccolacoccinella

Leave a Reply

